Winter is upon us, but that doesn’t mean that the constant stream of awesome local tours we’re lucky enough to enjoy in this country has to stop.

There’s a stack of great live music coming up. One of Melbourne’s best live acts, Northeast Party House, are back for a huge tour in support of their new album Dare, and for hip hop fans both the 7-piece Koi Child and L-Fresh The Lion are playing shows.

Despite the name of his Got No Game tour, Yeo most definitely has just that, and the producer (and occasional keytar-playing legend) is playing a run of dates with Saatsuma in tow. Meanwhile, Dustin Tebbutt has sold out both his Melbourne and Sydney shows, and added second dates to each.

The Grand Magoozie have their debut album out, and are embarking on a tidy little East Coast tour, rockers The Pretty Littles are off on a run of shows following the release of their recent single ‘Sleeping In Water’, and The Stiffys are releasing their album Art Rock Two and heading off on a ‘3D tour’ – with red and blue glasses for every audience member.

Most importantly, the legendary Tex Perkins and The Tennesse Four are playing a very special show with Rachael Tidd as part of a fundraiser for 4-year-old Frank Folley, who has been diagnosed with Stage 4 Neuroblastoma – a rare, aggressive tumour-based children’s cancer with no known cause. Frank is the son of Dave Folley and Rachael Tidd (both previously of The Man in Black, now Far From Folsom), and has so far gone through six rounds of gruelling chemotherapy – and is only halfway through – so any support he and his family can receive from this show will make a huge difference.

Tex Perkins

Friday August 19th – The Athenaeum Theatre, Melbourne

Further info here.

Northeast Party House

Sat 06 Aug – Darwin Festival, Darwin
Thu 08 Sept – The Barwon Club, Geelong
Fri 09 Sept – 170 Russell, Melbourne
Sat 10 Sept – Republic Bar, Hobart
Thu 15 Sept – Anu Bar, Canberra
Fri 16 Sept – Metro Theatre, Sydney (Lic / AA)
Sat 17 Sept – Small Ballroom, Newcastle
Fri 23 Sept – The Triffid, Brisbane (Lic / AA)
Sat 24 Sept – Sol Bar, Maroochydore
Fri 30 Sept – Jack Rabbit Slims, Perth
Sat 01 Oct – The Gov, Adelaide (Lic / AA)
Fri 07 Oct – Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Sat 08 Oct – Wrangler Studios, Melbourne (U18)
Tix On Sale Friday July 8. New Album ‘Dare’ Out Sep 9.

Koi Child

Fri Aug 19 – Hooch – Players Bar, Mandurah WA w/ Hideous Sun Demon & Human Buoy
Sat Aug 20 – Mojos Bar, Fremantle WA w/ Mathas (Full Band) & Snow/Rugg
Sun Aug 21 – Mojos Bar, Fremantle WA w/ Mei Saraswati & Akioka
Fri Aug 26 – Volumes 2016 – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney NSW
Sat Aug 27 – Howler, Melbourne VIC w/ friendships

The Stiffys

Friday 9th September – Ric’s Bar, Fortitude Valley
Sunday 11th September – The Spotted Cow, Toowoomba
Friday 16th September – Republic Bar, North Hobart
Saturday 17th September – The Royal Oak Hotel, Launceston
Friday 23rd September – Crown & Anchor, Adelaide
Saturday 24th September – The Loft, Warrnambool
Thursday 29th September – The Workers Club Geelong, Geelong
Friday 30th September – The Golden Vine, Bendigo
Thursday 6th October – The Phoenix, Canberra
Friday 7th October – Captains At Mariners, Batemans Bay
Saturday 8th October – Rad Bar, Wollongong
Saturday 15th October – Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle West
Thursday 27th October – The Gov, Hindmarsh
Friday 4th November – The Workers Club, Fitzroy

L-Fresh The Lion

Fri 5th August – Adelaide
Sun 14th August – Gold Coast w/ Luka Lesson
Fri 19th & Sat 20th August – Darwin w/ Sampa The Great
Fri 26th August – Perth
Sat 27th August – Fremantle
Thurs 1st Sept – Ballarat
Fri 2nd Sept – Melbourne
Sat 3rd Sept – Geelong
Thurs 8th Sept – Newcastle
Fri 9th Sept – Canberra
Sat 10th Sept – Sydney
Fri 16th Sept – Byron Bay
Sat 17th Sept – Brisbane

Note: Omar Musa & Sukhjit not present at Adelaide, Gold Coast & Darwin shows.

The Grand Magoozi

Thu Jul 7 – Petersham Bowling Club, NSW
Fri Jul 8/10 – Bello Winter Festival, Bellingen NSW
Sat July 16 – The Toff In Town, Melbourne VIC
Fri Jul 22 – The Bridge, Castlemaine VIC

More info here.

Yeo

With supports Saatsuma + Take Your Time

September 22 – Newtown Social Club, Sydney
September 25 – Corner Hotel, Melbourne
September 30 – The Foundry, Brisbane

More info here.

The Pretty Littles

Saturday 22nd October – Kennedys Creek Music Festival, VIC
Friday 28th October – Karova Lounge, Ballarat, VIC
Saturday 29th October – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 3rd November – Rad Bar, Wollongong, NSW
Friday 4th November – Moonshine, Manly, NSW
Saturday 5th November – Brighton Up Bar, Sydney, NSW
Friday 11th November – Cats @ Rocket Bar, Adelaide, SA
Saturday 12th November – The Loft, Warrnambool, VIC
Friday 18th November – The Northern, Byron Bay, NSW
Saturday 19th November – The Bearded Lady, Brisbane, QLD

More info here.

Dustin Tebbutt

Thu 04 Aug‪ – Byron Theatre, Byron Bay
Fri 05 Aug – Foundry, Brisbane
Sat 06 Aug – Sol Bar, Maroochydore
Thu 11 Aug – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne
Fri 12 Aug – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne SOLD OUT
Sat 13 Aug – Workers Club, Geelong
Thu 18 Aug – Newtown Social Club, Sydney
Fri 19 Aug – Newtown Social Club, Sydney SOLD OUT
Sat 20 Aug – Transit Bar, Canberra
Fri 26 Aug – Jack Rabbit Slims, Perth
Sat 27 Aug – Jive, Adelaide
Sat 03 Sept – Elsewhere The Rooftop, Newcastle*

More info here.

 

 

Write a Letter to the Editor