The nominees for the Australian Music Prize have been announced. Although it’s a fairly yawn-worthy list, it’s good to see some women included in the list. It’s a pity that Rowland S Howard didn’t get a posthumous nomination for his swansong, Pop Crimes. With $30,000 up for grabs, we’re tipping Sarah Blasko for a win as there’s a lot of pressure of the judges to choose a woman. Will we see her join The Drones, Augie March and The Mess Hall in the winners circle? All will be revealed in a ceremony on 12th March at Sydney’s Museum of Contemporary Art.

AMP Shortlist is:

Oh Mercy – Privileged Woes
Black Cab – Call Signs
Kid Sam – Kid Sam
Lisa Mitchell – Wonder
Sarah Blasko – As Day Follows Night
Bertie Blackman – Secrets & Lies
Lucie Thorne – Black Across The Field
Urthboy – Spitshine
The Mess Hall – For The Birds