Billy Corgan has announced his second solo album Ogilala will be out next month, and is produced — or “reduced” as he says — by Rick Rubin.

Billy is adopting the moniker William Patrick Corgan now, which suggests this is an album will be a serious adult record. The official presser back this notion up, describing the album as presenting “Corgan’s distinctive vocals and melodies across a sparse, but rich palette of acoustic guitar, piano, and strings.”

Over to you, William Patrick Corgan.

“For as long as I can remember the delineation point between songs I wrote for myself and songs I’d pen for whatever band was something I couldn’t explain. And it remains so, for they all feel quite personal to me, no matter their time or era. The lone difference on songs for Ogilala is that they seemed to want little in the way of adornment.

“Having written the songs for voice and guitar, I put myself in Rick’s hands to take the music wherever he’d like. Normally I would have done more, and tinkered more on production, but rather Rick put the onus on me to deliver at a molecular level via live takes. The rest was simply a reaction.”

The album will be out October 13 (pre-orders here). Listen to the first single ‘Aeronaut’ below, and check out the very-Corgan song titles in the track listing.

1. Zowie
2. Processional
3. The Spaniards
4. Aeronaut
5. The Long Goodbye
6. Half-Life Of An Autodidact
7. Amarinthe
8. Antietam
9. Mandaryne
10. Shiloh
11. Archer