The National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMA) were held at Darwin’s Botanic Gardens over the weekend, with thousands turning out for the concert as well as a ceremony that honoured Australia’s finest Indigenous music acts.

ABC News reports that Queensland quartet, The Medics swept the awards with their debut album, Foundations, released earlier this year. Taking top gongs for Song of the Year (in ‘Griffin’), Best Album and Best New Talent categories.

Fresh from his performance at the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee in June, Gurrumul Yunupingu continued what has been a successful year – taking out the Artist of the Year award for the second year in a row. The blind singer’s collaboration with Sarah Blasko, ‘Bayini’ also took out Cover Art of the Year, with a second NIMA going to artist/designer Carlo Santone (of Blue King Brown).

Other big winners included newly formed Arnhem Land band, East Journey – who have been mentored by Yothu Yinid’s Mandawuy Yunupingu – who took home the NT Film Clip of the Year for their tune, ‘Ngarrpiya’ filmed around their local country region of Yirrkala; as well as the prestigious G.R.  Bururrawanga Memorial Award for outstanding constribution to the NT music industry – which was proudly presented to the band by Mandawuy Yunupingnu on the night.

Country music star, Jimmy Little who passed away in April, was also inducted into the Hall of Fame for his contribution to music, along with Northern Territory musicians, the Lajamanu Teenage Band.

You can take a look at the full list of NIMA Award winners below:

New Talent of the Year – The Medics

Song of the Year – ‘Griffin’ – The Medics

Album of the Year – The Medics – Foundations

Artist of the Year – Gurrumul Yunupingu

Hall of Fame  –
Dr James Oswald Little, AO aka Jimmy Little
Sunrize Band
Lajamanu Teenage Band

NT Film Clip of the Year – ‘Ngarrpiya’ – East Journey (Director/Producer: Naina Sen + Susan Marawili)

G.R. Bururrawanga Memorial Award
East Journey

NT Cover Art of the Year – ‘Bayini’ – Gurrumul Yunupingu & Sarah Blasko (Artist/Designer: Carlo Santone)

Traditional Music Award of the Year
Song Peoples Sessions
Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen – ‘Ngambala Wiji Li-Wunungu’
Warren H Williams and the Warumungu Songmen – ‘Winanjjara’

NT School Band of the Year
NEAL Boys – Yirrkala CEC