In what will be a fitting tribute to Deep Purple co-founder Jon Lord, who passed away last month at the age of 71 after a long battle with pancreatic cancer, the band’s classic 1972 album Machine Head is set to get a re-tooling from some of metal’s biggest names.

The tribute album, titled Re-Machined, features the likes of Metallica, Iron Maiden and The Flaming Lips offering their unique take on the landmark heavy rock release – which this year is also celebrating its 40th Anniversary.

Ultimate Classic Rock has pointed to details of the album’s star-studded tracklising of the 10-song covers collection.

Forthcoming Soundwave headliners, Metallica have taken time out from working on their new studio album to contribute their reading of ‘When A Blind Man Cries.’ A Deep Purple B-side that was originally included in the 25th anniversary edition of Machine Head.

Meanwhile, The Flaming Lips will offer a characteristically psychelicious reading of guitar riff gold standard, ‘Smoke On The Water’, with a cameo from Butthole Surfers’ Gibby Haynes, while legendary guitarist Carlos Santana also offers his interpretation for the album’s opening.

The tracklist also features the Kings of Chaos, the hard-rockin’ banner for the teaming up of Def Leppard vocalist Joe Elliott, Guns N Roses’ Duff McKagan and Billy Idol guitarist Steve Stevens – who are contributing a version of ‘Never Before’.

Chickenfoot – the supergroup featuring Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Chad Smith and guitar virtuoso Steve Vai – offer not one, but two versions of ‘Highway Star’. Including an extended live jam on the classic opening cut, much like the ones they performed regularly on stage during their first tour.

Re-Machined will also feature cover versions by Zakk Wylde’s Black Label Society, tackling ‘Pictures of Home’, Iron Maiden’s version of ‘Space Truckin’; and closer to home, Jimmy Barnes lending his gut-punching wail to ‘Lazy’, in a collaboration with US blues guitarist Joe Bonamassa.

The Deep Purple tribute is due for release on September 25 through Eagle Rock records.

You can see the full tracklist below, and watch a preview of the album’s artist jamming in the studio and talking their Deep Purple influence at the banner above.

1. ‘Smoke On The Water’ – Carlos Santana / Jacoby Shaddix
2. ‘Highway Star’ – Chickenfoot
3. ‘Maybe I’m A Leo’ – Glenn Hughes / Chad Smith
4. ‘Pictures of Home’ – Black Label Society
5. ‘Never Before’ – Kings of Chaos (Featuring Joe Elliot of Def Leppard, Duff McKagan and Steve Stevens)
6. ‘Smoke On The Water’ – The Flaming Lips
7. ‘Lazy’ – Jimmy Barnes with Joe Bonamassa
8. ‘Space Truckin’’ – Iron Maiden
9. ‘When A Blind Man Cries’ – Metallica
10. ‘Highway Star’ – Steve Vai, Glenn Hughes, Chad Smith, Lauchlan Doley