Mixtape #27 is starts with a bang! we have a new track from Crystal Castles,  then Sydney’s New Navy, followed by the one and only Tim Rogers before the mellow tracks from Love Migrate and City Riots

Crystal Castles – Plague

The latest track from Crystal Castles conveys a somewhat haunting vibe – with its electronica sounds and high strung vocals. ‘Plague’ shows progression by the artists, making their lyrics more audible, and using vocals to drive the song. No doubt fans will be excited to hear something fresh, and also it’s presumed the track will lead to their next record.

New Navy – Breathe The Sydney band are back and this ‘Breathe’ is continuation of the series of Australian covers of French songs. The cover (which was originally by Télépopmusik) combines elements the bands have been renowned for: fun, energetic instrumentals   coupled with lead singer Ben McInerney’s smooth vocals. A really fun track to get you excited for hotter days.

Tim Rogers – Go On Out, Get Back Home Tim Roger’s new track is an upbeat, pseudo-love song rife with a catchy melody and great arrangement. The lyrics are true to Roger’s style and the upbeat track has fun a beat and also manages to employ a fun use of banjo (no easy feat). Check out the latest offering from Tim Rogers.

Love Migrate – Making This Hard

Love Migrate are back with their new track, ‘Making This Hard’. Not surprisingly, it is full of harmonious vocals that meld together perfectly into grand layers of beautiful sound. This along with influential drum beats create one inspiring tune. It also features their emotive and intriguing lyrics such as, “Right through the aching park, right through the breaking dark, into a freezing room… All of our wounds come from our first love.” ‘Making This Hard’ is the second track off their upcoming record, Plagued Are All My Thoughts, Like White Ants In The Fence, set to be released in October. You can go one step better and catch the Love Migrate crew at their next gig – Toff In Town on August 30.

City Riots – Wait For You

‘Wait For You’ is the first single taken from City Riots forthcoming debut album ‘Sea Of Bright Lights’ which is due for release in October. Produced by man of the moment Woody Annison (Hunting Grounds), this track is a lusciously international sounding with beautifully layered dream pop vocals and  perfectly textured guitar moments. Definitely a band to keep an eye on.