Queensland’s finest musical talents were awarded last night as part of the annual awards ceremony of the 2012 Queensland Music Awards, better known as the QMA’s.

Judged by a panel of music industry professionals, drawn from all over the nation, the awards were handed out to the already announced list of finalists, at the ceremony held at Brisbane’s Old Museum, featuring a showcase of local acts including the state’s legendary Ed Kuepper, Ball Park Music, up-and-comers Art of Sleeping and many more.

Indie collective, Cub Scouts, topped the winners list; picking up two awards including Song of the Year and the Pop Award for their song – “Do You Hear”. While Ben Salter, one of Brisbane’s most love troubadours, beat out the likes of DZ Deathrays and The Grates to collect the Album of the Year Award for his debut solo effort, The Cat.

DZ Deathrays did manage to scoop the Export Achievement Award, while their Velociraptor bandmate, Jeremy Neale beat out his fellow garage rockers in the Rock Award category for his tune, “Winter Was The Time”.

Despite cleaning up at the recent National Indigenous Music Awards, The Medics lost out in the QMA Indigenous Category to Sue Ray and their song “Red Roses”, Last Dinosaurs – also tipped as favourites in the awards for Most Popular Group and the Export Category – went home empty-handed.

Elsewhere, Kate Miller-Heidke once again picked up the Courier-Mail Most Popular Female Award – as voted for by the public – while Pete Murray took out the Male equivalent and The Grates took the Most Popular Group gong.

Other notable awards weere the Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award, given to Ed Kuepper, who was recognised for his contribution to the industry; while the inaugural Billy Thorpe Scholarship – a cash prize of $10,000 from Arts Queensland – went to newcomers Astrid and The Asteroids.

You can see the full list of awards and winners below, while all the winning songs are featured online at the Queensland Music Awards website.


School Award

You Could Be Happy – Sahara Beck

Indigenous Award
Red Roses – Sue Ray

Regional Award
Rainstorm – Jordan Brodie

Blues and Roots Award
Golden – Band of Frequencies

Children’s Music Award
The Hopping Mouse – The Lamplights

Country Award
Precious Little – Harmony James

Folk/Singer Songwriter
Raisin Heart – Mosman Alder

Urban Award
The Valley – Rainman

Electronic/Dance Award
M&R – Bec Laughton and Buré Godwin

Jazz Award
Dresden – Marialy Pacheco

World Music Award
Panini Fandango – Lüke

Rock Award
Winter Was the Time – Jeremy Neale

Heavy Award
Dawn to Rise – A Breach of Silence

Pop Award
Do You Hear – Cub Scouts

The Courier-Mail Most Popular Male Award

The Courier-Mail Most Popular Female Award

The Courier-Mail Most Popular Group Award

The Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award

The Export Achievement Award

The Billy Thorpe Scholarship

Song of the Year
Do You Hear – CUB SCOUTS

Album of the Year