Few music entities can boast three continuous decades of existence, but that’s how long the beloved music video show Rage has been creepily screaming at us from our TVs in the early hours of the morning.

To celebrate, the ABC will be releasing a huge three-disc compilation of tracks hoping in some way to sum up just a portion of the classic tunes that have defined the show over the years, from classics like Basement Jaxx (whose still-disturbing clip for ‘Where’s Your Head At’ has been disturbing the drug-affected for years) to never tunes from the likes of Tame Impala and PNAU.

It’s the latest part of a weeks-long bash being thrown in the show’s honour, which will include a special run of docos, interviews and other Rage-related programming taking over the ABC and its online/radio platforms from April 14 onwards.

The ABC describes the compilation in a bit more detail, touching on everything that made Rage viewing such a formative experience for a generation of music lovers.

This massive compilation features standout tracks from across the three decades Rage has been on air. Songs that have resonated with fans and artists covering all genres, ages, genders and nationalities; it’s the definitive Rage collection!

The rainy nights staying in, the drunken stumbles home, the house party-starter, the soundtrack to morning muesli – Rage means something different to everyone. The late-night television mainstay has entertained generations of Australians, providing a musical education and a window into a world of colour and artistry that is sometimes poetic, sometimes plastic, often raunchy but always fascinating.
As a collection, these songs cross the divide between pop, indie and experimental; Aussie and abroad and legendary to one-hit wonder. What binds these songs, however, are their power to conjure a moment in time, elevated in our memories by their accompanying visuals.

…These songs will make you sing along, cringe along, and relive fashions that, depending on your persuasion, are either fondly remembered or best forgotten. Looking forward, we’re also proud to celebrate some of the current artists creating memories for our future selves.

It’s available to pre-order from the ABC right now, so check out the full tracklist below, along with a preview of the Rage doco making its way to ABC in the coming weeks.


Rage 30 Tracklist

Disc 1 – 1987-1996

1. M/A/R/R/S – Pump Up The Volume
2. Warumpi Band – My Island Home
3. The Go-Betweens – Streets Of Your Town
4. Cocteau Twins – Carolyn’s Fingers
5. Soul II Soul – Back To Life (However Do You Want Me)
6. Kate Ceberano – Bedroom Eyes
7. Faith No More – Epic
8. Euphoria – Love You Right
9. Yothu Yindi – Treaty
10. The Clouds – Hieronymus
11. King Missile – Detachable Penis
12. James – Laid
13. Frente! – Bizarre Love Triangle
14. Pulp – Disco 2000
15. Christine Anu – Party
16. Spiderbait – Calypso
17. OMC – How Bizarre
18. Nada Surf – Popular

Disc 2 – 1997-2006

1. Smoke City – Underwater Love
2. Natalie Imbruglia – Torn
3. TISM – Whatareya?
4. Hole – Malibu
5. The Mavis’s – Cry
6. Josh Abrahams & Amiel Daemion – Addicted To Bass
7. Bomfunk MC’s – Freestyler
8. Korn – Freak On A Leash
9. Len – Steal My Sunshine
10. Madison Avenue – Don’t Call Me Baby
11. Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Got Your Money (feat. Kelis)
12. Kylie Minogue – Spinning Around
13. Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At
14. Sophie Ellis-Bextor – Murder On The Dancefloor
15. Gerling – Dust Me Selecta
16. Missy Elliott – Get Ur Freak On
17. Junior Senior – Move Your Feet
18. Britney Spears – Toxic
19. OutKast – Prototype
20. Wolfmother – Woman

Disc 3 – 2007-2016

1. The Presets – My People
2. PNAU – Wild Strawberries
3. MGMT – Electric Feel
4. Bag Raiders – Shooting Stars
5. El Guincho – Bombay
6. Hot Chip – I Feel Better
7. Janelle Monáe – Tightrope
8. St. Vincent – Cruel
9. Grimes – Oblivion
10. Vance Joy – Riptide
11. Is Tropical – Dancing Anymore
12. Beach House – Wishes
13. Kirin J Callinan – Landslide
14. Movement – Ivory
15. Sia – Chandelier
16. Girl Band – Why They Hide Their Bodies Under My Garage?
17. Tame Impala – Let It Happen
18. Jamie xx – Gosh