They’re calling it “the greatest Aussie road trip since Priscilla set out for the red centre” and they could just be right. Up The Guts is a brand new, unprecedented live music touring circuit straight up the middle of the country (hence the name).

From 22nd July to 7th August, ScotDrakula, Scott and Charlene’s Wedding, Ali E, and Ben Wright Smith will be on a one-way trek from Hobart, up through to Darwin, hitting up spots like Burnie, Castlemaine, Mount Gambier, and Coober Pedy along the way.

There’ll also be an appearance from Jack, Jo & friends, a collaboration between tour co-creator and Pretty Littles frontman Jack Parsons and Big Scary drummer Jo Syme. The two will be performing a collection of classic covers at each stop.

But this isn’t just an excuse for a gang of old mates to hang out. The entire Up The Guts team will present a series of music development workshops for communities in Tasmania, Victoria, South Australia, and NT.

The workshops, presented in conjunction with Music Tasmania, Victoria, SA, and NT, will look to inspire youth to pick up an instrument, learn about songwriting, and the different opportunities that exist in a career in the music industry.

Tour creators Parsons and Clarke have described the roadtrip as, “a throwback to the grassroots touring that Aussie pub rock was built on in the late 70s and 80s. It’s a rock and roll adventure through the desert!”

Up The Guts Tour

Friday, 22nd July 2016
Brisbane Hotel – Hobart

Saturday, 23rd July 2016
Royal Oak – Launceston

Sunday, 24th July 2016
The Butter Factory – Burnie

Monday, 25th July 2016
The Gasometer – Melbourne

Tuesday, 26th July 2016
The Golden Vine – Bendigo

Wednesday, 27th July 2016
Bridge Hotel – Castlemaine

Thursday, 28th July 2016
The Loft – Warrnambool

Friday 29th July 2016
Commercial Hotel – Mount Gambier

Saturday, 30th July 2016
The Exeter – Adelaide

Sunday, 31st July 2016
Tassie Tavern – Port Augusta

Wednesday, 3rd August 2016
The Desert Cave – Coober Pedy

Thursday, 4th August 2016
Monte’s Lounge – Alice Springs

Friday, 5th August 2016
Jackson’s Bar – Tennant Creek

Saturday, 6th August 2016
The Heritage Hotel – Grove Hill

Sunday, 7th August 2016
Railway Club – Darwin

Write a Letter to the Editor