The APRA music awards nominees were announced today, with the ever present John Butler and Birds of Tokyo picking up a swag of nominations. The Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year Award saw nominations for Birds of Tokyo, The Jezabels, Dan Sultan, Tame Impala and Megan Washington, while unsurprisingly Powderfinger and John Butler Trio picked up gongs for Most Played Australian Work, along with, curiously; Jet.

Gyroscope, Powderfinger, Amy Meredith and Jet were all predictable inclusions in the Rock Work Of The Year category, while the Song of The Year nominations will see Angus & Julia Stone, John Butler Trio, Birds of Tokyo, Sia and Casey Chambers battle it out for the coveted trophy. The award winners will be announced at a ceremony at Carriageworks in Sydney on Tuesday 21st June. It’s APRA, so it’s more likely to be a beer and joint fuelled occasion rather than a coke and champagne knees up, but you can watch all the action from home in a special which will be broadcast exclusively on MAX on Thursday July 7th at 9.30PM

Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year:

Birds Of Toyko
The Jezabels
Tame Impala
Dan Sultan/Scott Wilson
Megan Washington

Song Of The Year:

Jet Plane – Angus And Julia Stone
Clap Your Hands – Sia
Little Bird – Kasey Chambers
Plans – Birds Of Tokyo
Revolution – John Butler Trio

Rock Work Of The Year:

Baby I’m Getting Better – Gyroscope
Burn Your Name – Powderfinger
Lying – Amy Meredith
Plans – Birds Of Tokyo
Seventeen – Jet

Most Played Song Of The Year:

Burn Your Name – Powderfinger
Close To You – John Butler Trio
One Way Road – John Butler Trio
Plans – Birds Of Tokyo
Seventeen – Jet

International Work Of The Year:

California Gurls – Katy Perry
Fireflies – Owl City
Hey Soul Sister – Train
O.M.G – Usher
Whataya Want From Me – Adam Lambert

Urban Work Of The Year:

Addicted – Bliss N Eso
Down By The River – Bliss N Eso
Light You Burned – Hilltop Hoods
Rapunzel – Drapht
Who’s That Girl – Guy Sebastian Featuring Eve

Dance Work Of The Year:

Chemical Rush – Brian Mcfadden
Free Fallin – Zoe Badwi
Hello – The Potbelleez
Magic Fountain – Art Vs Science
Sometimes – Miami Horror

Country Work Of The Year:

Can’t Change A Thing – Catherine Britt
Hell Yeah – Mcalister Kemp
Little Bird – Kasey Chambers
Planet Country – Lee Kernaghan
Wrapped Up Good – The McClymonts

Blues & Roots Work Of The Year:

10:10 – Beautiful Girls
Close To You – John Butler Trio
Don’t Wait – Beautiful Girls
One Way Road – John Butler Trio
Walking – Ash Grunwald