The program for Octobers Melbourne Festival was unveiled at an event at the Forum Theatre in the Victorian capital last night and as in previous years, a typically eclectic music program was unveiled.

Amongst a diverse range of theatre, dance, visual art and theatre offerings, the music program includes performances by US country collective Okkeril River, former Moldy Peaches frontwoman Kimya Dawson and staging a spoken word performance, former Dead Kennedys singer Jello Biafra who will be returning to Australia for the first time in eight years.

Other nice selections in the music program include US experimental outfits Black Dice and Lucky Dragons,  the acclaimed Japanese post-rock act MONO backed by a 23-piece orchestra and Arab-American Hip Hoppers The Narcicyst and Omar Offendum. The events will be held across The Forum, The Toff In Town and a one off gig for Okkervil River. For the full festival program and tickets see www.melbournefestival.com.au

Forum Theatre:

Friday, October 7
MONO + Wintercoats

Saturday, October 8
Black Dice + Lucky Dragons

Friday, October 14
Okkervil River, Roller One

Saturday, October 15
Aesop Rock, Kimya Dawson (ft. Rob Sonic & DJ Big Wiz + The Narcicyst + Omar Offendum

Friday, October 21
Konono No.1 + Bachelorette

Saturday, October 22
Jello Biafra

Meeniyan Town Hall:

Saturday, October 15
Okkervil River

The Toff In Town:

Sunday, October 9
Sulumi + Qua

Wednesday, October 12
Lucky Dragons + Geoffrey O’Connor

Sunday, October 16
Will Sheff (Okkervil River) + Jimmy Stewart + Mike Noga

Wednesday, October 19
Bachelorette + Rat Vs Possum