A rip roaring success when it was first held last year, 2011 sees Melbourne Overground return to the Melbourne Town Hall for another multi-stage concert this Sunday 13th June featuring a spectacular line-up of some of the most celebrated creative and improvisational artists in the world, including many collaborations exclusive to this Melbourne Jazz Festival event. A number of performers from Melbourne indie bands will be joining some of the best known jazz and improvisation artists from around the world in a six hour spectacular which will see the outer reaches of jazz and improvisation explored by collaborating musicians. The extraordinary line-up of distinguished international guests includes Tony Conrad, Charlemagne Palestine, Yoshida Tatsuya and many more…

Musicians representing bands such as Pikelet, the Sophia Brous Band, Fabulous Diamonds, Naked On The Vague and Zond will collaborate with avant garde, jazz and improvisation performers from around the world in an event which

Oren Ambarchi (guitar)
Charlemagne Palestine (USA – grand organ)

Yoshida Tatsuya (Japan – drums)
Satoko Fujii (Japan – piano)

Zond (psych rock)
Nick Tammens (guitar/electronics)
Marco Fusinato (guitar/electronics)

Jim Denley (Sydney – saxophone)
xNOBBQx (Sydney / Brisbane noise rock)

Scott Tinkler (trumpet)
Oscar Noriega (USA – saxophone)
James Rushford (viola)

Charlemagne Palestine (USA – electronics)

Joe Talia (percussion)
Brian Ritchie (USA – shakuhachi)
Mary Halvorson (USA – guitar)
Rosalind Hall (prepared saxophone)

Blank Realm (Brisbane – psych rock)
Andrew Tuttle (Brisbane – banjo / electronics)

Will Guthrie (Aus /France – percussion)
Cured Pink (Brisbane – industrial)

Tim Berne (USA – Saxophone)
Anthony Pateras (piano)
Gareth Thompson (drums)

Jim Denley (Sydney – saxophone)
Alex Garsden (guitar)
Natasha Anderson (recorder)
Ches Smith (USA – drums)

Shags Chamberlain (synth)
Laurence Pike (Sydney – drums)
Jean-Hervé Péron (Germany, Faust)

Yoshida Tatsuya (Japan – drums)
Clayton Thomas (Aus/Germany – double bass)
Lloyd Honeybrook (saxophone)
Angus Leslie (guitar)

Skyneedle (Brisbane – homemade instruments)
Snawklor (shamans)

Nekrasov (Black Metal)

Chris Abrahams (Syd)(piano)
Tim O’Dwyer (Singapore/AUS)(saxophone)
Sophia Brous (voice)
Judith Hamann (cello)

Snake Oil:
Tim Berne (USA, saxophone)
Matt Mitchell (USA, piano)
Ches Smith (USA, drums)

Will Guthrie (Aus /France – percussion)
Lucas Abela (Syd) (glass)
Emma Albury (voice)

Rully Shabara (Indonesia – voice)
Wukir Suryad (Indonesia – bamboo instruments)

Golden Fur (strings/ electronics)
Satoko Fujii (JPN) (piano)
Darren Moore (Singapore/AUS) (drums)

Fabulous Diamonds (synths / percussion) vs.
Naked on the Vague (Syd) (synths / guitar / percussion / voice)

Matt Mitchell (USA – piano)

Sean Baxter (percussion)
Jerome Noetinger (FRA) (electronics / tapes)
Faust (GER) (assorted instruments, noise)

Tony Conrad (USA – violin)
Chris Abrahams (piano)

Roamers and Installation artists
Hi God People
(mobile version)
Keptis (Brisbane – kinetic noise scultpure)
Rod Cooper (medicine show)
Vijay Thillaimuthu (video sculpture)
Bum Creek (intervention)
Public Assembly / Anthony Magen (intervention)
Troy Naumoff (guitar)
Ren Walters (guitar)
Clinton Green (turntable installation)
Sally Anne McIntyre (New Zealand – radiophonics)
Kusum Normoyle (Sydney – vocals)
Fabio Umberto (disco)