Can anyone believe it’s been 7 years since Mark Lanegan and his out the Mark Lanegan Band have released a studio LP, not since 2004’s Bubblegum? Man does time fly. But the sometimes Queens Of The Stone Age vocalist has certainly been busy.

He’s been touring around the world non-stop, including a trip down under, and recently it was announced he has worked with Josh Homme on a cover of Jack White’s The Dead Weather.

Now Lanegan has turned his attention back to his band and is putting the finishing touches on his follow up to Bubblegum with new record Blues Funeral which is planned for release in February 2012. The record was recorded in Hollywood, California, and features 12 tracks with a load of familiar faces said to feature such as Josh Homme, Gred Dulli, and Jack Irons.

Even though it’s still a few months until we’ll be able to get our hands on a copy of the record, Lanegan has kindly given us a preview by debuting the first single to his fans on the internet. The track is called ‘The Gravedigger’s Song’ and sounds a lot like an old school Queens Of The Stone Age song.

Have a listen to the track below and check out the tracklisting

Blues Funeral Tracklist:
01. The Gravedigger’s Song
02. Bleeding Muddy Water
03. Gray Goes Black
04. St Louis Elegy
05. Riot In My House
06. Ode To Sad Disco
07. Phantasmagoria Blues
08. Quiver Syndrome
09. Harborview Hospital
10. Leviathan
11. Deep Black Vanishing Train
12. Tiny Grain Of Truth