Tame Impala have cleaned up at Western Australia’s WAMI awards, taking out the gongs for Most Popular Act, Most Popular Live Act, Best Rock Act and Best Guitarist (Kevin Parker). Hosted by Channel V’s Dylan Lewis and Triple J’s Dom Alessio, the awards saw local band Split Seconds pick up the trophies for Favourite Newcomer, Most Promising New Act, Best Indie Pop Act and Best Male Vocalist (Sean Pollard).

Their run of good fortune saw their latest single ‘All You Gotta Do’ added to Triple J’s high rotation play list last week. Unsurprisingly the ubiquitous Birds of Tokyo Most [icked up the gong for Popular Album award for their platinum-selling self-titled long player, in addition to keyboardist Glenn Sarangapany scoring the Best Instrumentalist Award .Interestingly, the judges couldn’t be split when it came to Best Commercial Pop Act, as it was shared between two winners – young electro-pop duo Tim & Jean and folkie songwriter Felicity Groom.

In proceedings earlier in the week, The Waifs and The Panics’ manager Pete Carroll saw themselves inducted into the WAMi Hall Of Fame. A posthumous Hall Of Fame induction was also handed to the late Fremantle record producer Shaun O’Callaghan, who passed away last year.


Most Popular Act: Tame Impala

Most Popular Live Act: Tame Impala

Most Popular Music Website: FasterLouder

Most Popular Album: Birds of Tokyo, Birds of Tokyo

Favourite Newcomer: Split Seconds

Most Popular Music Venue: The Rosemount Hotel

Most Popular Music Event: St Jerome’s Laneway

Most Popular Single / EP: Jebediah, She’s Like a Comet

Most Popular Music Video: The Brow Horn Orchestra, Don’t You Wanna Sing Forever


Best Live Sound Engineer: Luke Willott

Best Record Producer/Engineer: Dave Parkin

Best Male Vocalist: Sean Pollard (Split Seconds)

Best Female Vocalist: Abbe May

Best Guitarist: Kevin Parker (Tame Impala)

Best Bassist: Rob Stephens (Sons of Rico, Russian Winters, Simone & Girlfunkle)

Best Drummer: Todd Pickett (Split Seconds, Davey Craddock and The Spectacles)

Best Instrumentalist: Glenn Sarangapany (Birds of Tokyo, Sons of Rico)

Best Electronic Producer: Tomás Ford

Best DJ: Rok Riley


Most Promising New Act: Split Seconds

Best Rock Act: Tame Impala

Best Hardcore/Punk Act: Injured Ninja

Best Hardcore/Metal Act: Eleventh He Reaches London

Best Funk Act: Boom! Bap! Pow!

Best Urban/Hip Hop Act: Drapht

Best Blues & Roots Act: Abbe May

Best Jazz Act: Jack Doepel Quartet

Best World Act: Grace Barbé

Best Country Music Act: Ruby Boots

Best Indigenous Act: Yabu Band

Best Electronic Music Act: Tim & Jean

Best Indie Pop Act: Split Seconds

Best Commercial Pop Act: Tim & Jean, Felicity Groom.

Best WA Based Record Label: Jarrah Records

Media Award — Individual: Aarom Wilson (Drum Media, Cut & Paste)

Media Award — Organisation: RTRfm 92.1

Management Award: Luke Rinaldi

Golden WAMi: Luke Rinaldi