After playing the WAMI Festival and playing a brief east coast run earlier this month, which saw our reviewer gushing ‘they are one of the best live acts of 2011’, Perth’s The Panda Band are about to hit the road for their national Charisma Weapon Album Tour.

After several years away from the spotlight which saw them bunkered down in Los Angeles playing gigs and working on their latest album, the band are back on the Australian scene with a vengeance

Since they hit the airwaves back in 2005 with their debut single ‘Sleepy Little Deathtoll Town’ and subsequent album release of This Vital Chapter (We’re Almost Not Even Here), The Panda Band have been busy touring America, writing and building their own home studio. They proclaim this album to be more of a collective effort than ever before, with the band members all sharing in the writing process equally as well as knob twiddling on the desk in production duties.

New single ‘The Fix’ was made available as a free download to fans and was quickly picked up by Trip le J. The band are set to release Charisma Weapon on July 15th, on their own label Bam*Boo Records through MGM.

CHARISMA WEAPON ALBUM TOUR:

Thu 28th July – Hotel New York, Launceston, TAS

Fri 29th July – Spurs, Devonport, TAS

Sat 30th July – Republic Bar, Hobart, TAS

Fri 5th August – The Great Northern, Byron Bay, NSW

Sat 6th August – The Globe, Fortitude Valley, QLD

Wed 10th August – The Brass Monkey, Cronulla, NSW

Thu 11th August – The Vault, Windsor, NSW

Fri 12th August – Northern Star, Newcastle, NSW

Sat 13th August – The Gaelic Club, Sydney, NSW

Wed 17th August – ANU, Canberra, ACT

Thu 18th August – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne, VIC

Fri 19th August – Barwon Club, Geelong, VIC

Sat 20th August – Hotel Metro, Adelaide, SA

Fri 26th August – Rosemount Hotel, North Perth, WA

Fri 2nd September – Player’s Bar, Mandurah, WA

www.thepandaband.bandcamp.com