The nominations for the UK’s Mercury Music Prize, upon which the Australian Music Prize was based, have been announced. The 12 shortlisted artists are a diverse bunch, including pop songstress Anna Calvi, previous winners Elbow and PJ Harvey, dubstep hero James Blake and hip hop star Tinie Tempah. Naturally, the all conquering Adele is in there with her album 21, while Tone Deaf tip for our hottest international artists of 2011 Everything Everything also makes the cut.

Anna Calvi — ‘Anna Calvi’
Everything Everything — ‘Man Alive’
Metronomy — ‘The English Riviera’
Adele — ’21’
PJ Harvey — ‘Let England Shake’
Katy B — ‘On a Mission’
Ghostpoet — ‘Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam’
Elbow — ‘Build A Rocket Boys!’
King Creosote and Jon Hopkins — ‘Diamond Mine’
Tinie Tempah — ‘Disc-Overy’
Gwilym Simcock — ‘Good Days At Schloss Elmau’
James Blake — ‘James Blake’